What are the types of Cell Division?

The formation of two cells from a single cell is called cell division. There are two types of cell division: Amitosis, Mitosis and Meiosis.

types of Cell Division

Amitosis: This type of division is found in less developed unicellular organisms like fungi, algae etc. In this division first the nucleus divides, then the cytoplasm divides. At the end of this type of division, two new cells are born.

Mitosis: It is also called Vegetative cell division. This type of division produces two identical cells. Although the cell divides but the number of Chromosomes remains the same.

Meiosis: This division occurs only in germ cells. By this division, sperm and ovum are formed in animals and male and female gametes are formed in plants. After this division, the number of Chromosomes is halved, that is why it is also called Reduction Cell Division.

Leave a Comment