What are the four stages of Mitosis Cell Division?

Meiosis Cell Division has been divided into four stages – Prophage, Metaphage, Anaphage and Telophage.

(1) Prophage : Chromosomes can be seen at this stage of Cell Division. Each Chromosome is made up of two homologous Chromatids that are joined together at the Centromere. The Nucleus gradually shrinks and disappears. The breakage and disappearance of the Nuclear Membrane marks the end of the Prophase stage.

(2) Metaphage : In this stage, the Nucleus and Nuclear Membrane disappear from the center of the cell and a spindle fibers shaped structure is formed in the center of the cell. Its Chromosomes then become smaller and get arranged along the midline of the cell. Their Centromere is attached to the spindle fibre.

stages of Mitosis

(3) Anaphage : In this stage, the Centromere of each Chromosome divides into two parts. When each meiosis receives a Centromere, it becomes a complete Chromosome. Due to the contraction of the spindle fibers, one of these Chromosomes starts moving towards one pole of the spindle and the other Chromosome on the other side. At the end of this stage, a cell starts contracting in its central part.

(4) Telophage : In this stage the daughter Chromosomes reach their respective poles and become loose and turn into Chromatin strands. With the appearance of the Nuclear Membrane and Nucleolus, two daughter nuclei are formed and the spindle fibers disappear. By the end of this stage, two complete daughter cells are formed.

Leave a Comment